Thursday, May 16, 2024

Latest Posts

Books like blended top books to read

Blended, written by Sharon M. Draper, is a heart-warming story of a young girl named Isabella who struggles to find her place in the world. The book explores themes of identity, family, and self-discovery, and has become a beloved classic in the world of children’s literature.

 Here are some other books that you might enjoy:

1. The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

The Crossover is a novel in verse that tells the story of a young boy named Josh and his twin brother Jordan, both basketball prodigies. The book explores themes of sibling rivalry, family, and growing up, and is a great choice for readers who enjoy the sports element of Blended.

2. Stella by Starlight by Sharon M. Draper

If you enjoyed the writing style of Sharon M. Draper in Blended, you might also enjoy her novel Stella by Starlight. Set in the segregated South during the 1930s, the book follows a young girl named Stella as she navigates racism and injustice in her small town.

See also  Books like wild cheryl strayed

3. Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan

Amina’s Voice is a middle-grade novel that tells the story of a young Pakistani-American girl named Amina as she navigates the challenges of middle school. The book explores themes of identity, culture, and friendship, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the diverse cast of characters in Blended.

4. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Brown Girl Dreaming is a memoir in verse that tells the story of Jacqueline Woodson’s childhood, growing up in the 1960s and 1970s in the United States. The book explores themes of family, identity, and social justice, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the autobiographical elements of Blended.

5. The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore

The Stars Beneath Our Feet is a novel that follows a young boy named Lolly as he tries to navigate the challenges of growing up in Harlem. The book explores themes of loss, grief, and creativity, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the urban setting of Blended.

6. Front Desk by Kelly Yang

Front Desk is a middle-grade novel that tells the story of a young girl named Mia Tang as she helps her immigrant parents run a motel in California. The book explores themes of family, identity, and social justice, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the cultural elements of Blended.

7. Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Other Words for Home is a middle-grade novel that follows a young Syrian girl named Jude as she immigrates to the United States with her mother. The book explores themes of identity, displacement, and friendship, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the immigrant experience in Blended.

See also  Books like wild cheryl strayed

8. Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes

Ghost Boys is a novel that explores the aftermath of the police shooting of a young Black boy named Jerome. The book follows the perspectives of both Jerome and the young girl who witnesses his death, and explores themes of racism, justice, and the power of empathy. It is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the social justice themes in Blended.

9. Love Like Sky by Leslie C. Youngblood

Love Like Sky is a middle-grade novel that tells the story of a young girl named Georgie as she adjusts to life with her new stepfather and stepsisters. The book explores themes of family, identity, and forgiveness, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the family dynamics in Blended.

10. Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

Inside Out & Back Again is a novel in verse that tells the story of a young girl named Ha as she and her family flee Vietnam and start a new life in Alabama. The book explores themes of displacement, identity, and the power of language, and is a great choice for readers who enjoyed the immigrant experience in Blended.

 

Conclusion

Blended” by Sharon M. Draper is a powerful young adult novel that delves into important issues of race, identity, and family. If you enjoyed this book, there are many other similar books that explore similar themes and issues, including “The Crossover” by Kwame Alexander, “Front Desk” by Kelly Yang, “Brown Girl Dreaming” by Jacqueline Woodson, “The House on Mango Street” by Sandra Cisneros, “The Skin I’m In” by Sharon G. Flake, “Dear Martin” by Nic Stone, and “Amina’s Voice” by Hena Khan. These books offer engaging and thought-provoking stories that are sure to resonate with readers of all ages.

See also  Books like wild cheryl strayed

Latest Posts

spot_imgspot_img

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.